SpotEditor and OSX 10.8

Everything related to WebRotate 360 desktop tools and utilities.
andre
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2013 11:51 pm
Contact:

SpotEditor and OSX 10.8

Postby andre » Sun Feb 17, 2013 11:53 pm

Hi,

i have a problem with OSX 10.8 i cant start the SpotEditor at 10.7 before i had no problems

Thanks

Andre

WebSupport
Posts: 1061
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 11:35 am
Location: Pasadena, CA
Contact:

Re: SpotEditor and OSX 10.8

Postby WebSupport » Mon Feb 18, 2013 10:34 am

Hi Andre, thanks for bringing this issue to us. It's actually being worked on and we expect to have a fixed build sometime later this week. Please stay tuned. We will post an update under this forum topic once the fix is available.

WebSupport
Posts: 1061
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 11:35 am
Location: Pasadena, CA
Contact:

Re: SpotEditor and OSX 10.8

Postby WebSupport » Thu Feb 21, 2013 3:01 pm

Andre, the issue we have been working on turned out to be a problem with our MAC developer environment rather than the app itself.

We have done a few more tests on clean OSx 10.8 with latest updates, and SpotEditor seems to be working fine as-is (the same copy as in our free 360 viewer download).

To make it work on OSx 10.8 we have installed the latest X11 2.7.4 via
http://xquartz.macosforge.org/landing/

And you also need to install Mono framework using this link (same as as per our readme in the free download):
http://download.mono-project.com/archiv ... in.x86.dmg

Also, it looks like you have to restart your computer after initial installation of X11 on fresh Mac OSx for it to start working with our app.

Once all this is done, SpotEditor launches fine. Please let us know if this helps.

andre
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2013 11:51 pm
Contact:

Re: SpotEditor and OSX 10.8

Postby andre » Fri Feb 22, 2013 6:17 am

Thanks for your fast help, i want check it

andre
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2013 11:51 pm
Contact:

Re: SpotEditor and OSX 10.8

Postby andre » Fri Feb 22, 2013 6:50 am

it works many thanks for your help !!

mulgo
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 3:12 am
Contact:

Re: SpotEditor and OSX 10.8

Postby mulgo » Mon Aug 26, 2013 3:26 am

Hi,

Have just downloaded and installed the spoteditor OSX version. At the same time I also downloaded and installed the current X11 and Mono framework.

All seems to load correctly. However, as soon as the window of spoteditor appears, it slides down to the bottom of the screen. I can drag it back up, but as soon as I release the window it goes down again. The only thing I see is the top of the spoteditor window.

Could you please assist.

Thanks.

Regards,
Daniel

WebSupport
Posts: 1061
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 11:35 am
Location: Pasadena, CA
Contact:

Re: SpotEditor and OSX 10.8

Postby WebSupport » Mon Aug 26, 2013 12:51 pm

Hi Daniel - thanks for your post! Can you please confirm your OSx version and also please let me know if you used the version of Mono that we link above, as this is the one that we have tested it with?

In our testing earlier and later versions of Mono will not work well with SpotEditor (that's why we are currently reworking SpotEditor to use native Mac UI instead of X11 which Mono doesn't support any longer), so you really need the exact mono version ie 2.10.9 12.

mulgo
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 3:12 am
Contact:

Re: SpotEditor and OSX 10.8

Postby mulgo » Mon Aug 26, 2013 11:22 pm

Hi,
I am running OSX Version 10.8.4.

The Mono version installed is 2.10.9 12.

WebSupport
Posts: 1061
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 11:35 am
Location: Pasadena, CA
Contact:

Re: SpotEditor and OSX 10.8

Postby WebSupport » Tue Aug 27, 2013 9:24 am

Interesting... Just tested it on clean 10.8.4 and it worked fine. We have X11 verions 2.7.4 on this box. Which version of X11 are you running?

Also do you have a dual monitor setup by any chance?

What is your screen resolution?

mulgo
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 3:12 am
Contact:

Re: SpotEditor and OSX 10.8

Postby mulgo » Wed Aug 28, 2013 3:12 am

I have a MacBook first generation Aluminium body, no dual monitor setup. X11 version 2.7.4.

Screen resolution 1280x800, which apparently is the best for built-in display. I have now tried other resolutions with the same result.


Return to “Desktop Software - SpotEditor”

cron